Open School BC would like to thank all of the StrongStart BC Facilitators who offered video testimonials, photographs and artwork for this project. We were overwhelmed by your enthusiasm and regret that we were unable to include all of the materials that were offered. Your dedication to StrongStart BC families and children across the province is clearly evident and greatly appreciated.


StrongStart BC Facilitators
Katie Blackwell – William Conkin Elementary, Burns Lake
Joanne Bishop – Cedar Elementary, Campbell River
Colleen Friendship – Queneesh Elementary, Comox Valley
Wendy Meechan – George Jay Elementary, Victoria
Sharon Nazaroff – Robson Community School, Robson
Steven Pedersen – Tillicum Annex, Vancouver
Kathy Reed – Blackburn Elementary, Prince George
Enith Teran – Ecole des Pionniers, Port Coquitlam
Donna-Lynn Thorpe – McKenzie Elementary, Victoria
Rae-Lynn Varga – Mulheim Memorial Elementary, Smithers
Maureen Wagner – Brooklyn Elementary, Comox Valley
Sandy Yun – Sir James Douglas Elementary, Vancouver

Project Advisors

Early Years, Learning Division (Ministry of Education)
Catherine Jensen – Early Years and StrongStart BC Provincial Coordinator
Luke Evans – Co-op Student, University of Victoria

Resource Developers

Open School BC (Ministry of Education)
Janet Bartz – Writing / storyboarding, media design / coordination
Sean Cunniam – Instructional design / project coordination
Christine Ramkeesoon – Web design / development
Jennifer Riddel – Project advisor
Justin Chen – Quality assurance testing
Priyanka Alexander – Quality assurance testing


Stephanie Dawson – Copy editing
Message on Hold Productions Ltd. – Narration
Basetwo Media Inc. – Video production
Art Messenger – Video production
Cait Flanders – Quiz production